The best six doctors anywhere
And no one can deny it
Are sunshine, water, rest, and air
Exercise and diet.
These six will gladly you attend
If only you are willing
Your mind they’ll ease
Your will they’ll mend
And charge you not a shilling.
~Wayne Fields, What the River Knows

Health is a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being, and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.  ~World Health Organization, 1948

The… patient should be made to understand that he or she must take charge of his own life.  Don’t take your body to the doctor as if he were a repair shop.  ~Quentin Regestein

If you have health, you probably will be happy, and if you have health and happiness, you have all the wealth you need, even if it is not all you want.  ~Elbert Hubbard

Water, air, and cleanliness are the chief articles in my pharmacopoeia.  ~Napoleon I

When it comes to eating right and exercising, there is no “I’ll start tomorrow.”  Tomorrow is disease.  ~Terri Guillemets

I think you might dispense with half your doctors if you would only consult Dr. Sun more.  ~Henry Ward Beecher

The hospitals and graveyards are filled with those who refused to acknowledge the virtues of physical morality.  ~Dr Ron Spallone

Just because you’re not sick doesn’t mean you’re healthy.

I see rejection in my skin, worry in my cancers, bitterness and hate in my aching joints.  I failed to take care of my mind, and so my body now goes to hospital.  ~Astrid Alauda

Physical fitness can neither be achieved
by wishful thinking nor outright purchase.
Joseph Pilates

Don’t let what you cannot do interfere with what you can do.
-John Wooden

Leave a Reply

